Short trip to Vaduz in the Principality of Liechtenstein

Vaduz is the capital of the Principality of Liechtenstein. The municipality in the Oberland is the residence of the prince, the seat of the state government, the parliament, all courts and the Roman Catholic archbishopric of the same name.

Vaduz was first mentioned in 1175/1200 as de Faduzes. In 1699 Prince Hans Adam of Liechtenstein acquired the Lordship of Schellenberg and in 1712 the County of Vaduz.

On January 23, 1719, a diploma from Emperor Charles VI united the County of Vaduz with the Lordship of Schellenberg and elevated it to an Imperial Principality with the name Liechtenstein. In 1806 Napoleon Bonaparte founded the Confederation of the Rhine, in which Liechtenstein was also included and thus became de facto independent. At the Congress of Vienna, this independence was confirmed and Liechtenstein was admitted to the German Confederation.

Vaduz is particularly known in its capacity as an international financial center.

Vaduz - Photos


○ Kathedrale St. Florin (cathedral)

 Regierungsgebäude des Fürstentums

   (Edificio del Gobierno / Government building)

○ Schloss Vaduz (Castle)

○ Liechtensteinisches Landesmuseum

○ Hofkellerei des Fürsten von Liechtenstein

   (Cellars of the Prince of Liechtenstein)

Our rating

Travel inspiration for fans. Travel in any season - city trip.


Our star rating

Winkler & Cabral & Project Globetrotter are the old labels of the photos, from the beginning of 2024 they will only be labeled "J.Winkler - Art my way".

More about the author 
J. Winkler - Published titles and biography


Rating: 5 stars
1 vote

Add comment


There are no comments yet.